Oatmeal Cookie Recipe Notes

If your New Year’s resolution is to eat more whole grain, then take heart.  On the recipe page of floridafuntimes.com, you will find a very, very versatile cookie recipe.  It can be made vegan, vegetarian, 100 per cent whole grain, 50 per cent whole grain or in any combination you desire.  The only consistent ingredients that I use are one half package of tofu, 4 cups of oats, salad oil, baking soda, and iodized sea salt.

Recently, I received a box of fresh California almonds from my aunt’s trees.  So, I made the following version of my family oatmeal cookie recipe:  I added an extra 1/2 Tablespoon of pure vanilla.  Instead of 1 1/2 cups of white sugar I used 1/2 cup of Wholesome Sweeteners coconut flower sugar and 1 cup of Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Sucanat sugar,  In place of unbleached wheat flour, I used 1/2 cup whole grain amaranth flour and 1 cup of whole grain spelt flour.  I added 1 cup of raw almonds that I had pulsed in the food processor until most of them were finely chopped.  Since I had so many almonds and wanted to fasten a whole almond to the top of each cookie, I separated one egg and put the yolk in the wet ingredients.  I whisked the egg white with a drop of water and brushed the mixture over each cookie after I pressed a whole almond on the top.  So, this version was not vegan.

If you have mini chocolate chips, this recipe can accommodate up to one cup instead of the one cup of almonds that I used in this version.

The recipe was mixed with a potato masher, since the whole grains will make a very stiff  dough.  Also, I added 2/3 cup of water to make the mixture more pliable.  After rolling the dough into balls, I flatten them onto the parchment lined cookie sheets by putting a small square of waxed paper over my hand and pressing down on each cookie.  I let the cookies cool on the cookie sheets and I increased the baking time by 5 minutes, so they were in the oven for 20 minutes.  The parchment paper was very convenient since I was brushing egg whites on top of each cookie.  This made clean up much easier.

This recipe can be a whole lot of fun, since there is about no way to goof it up.  Find the recipe by returning to the floridafuntimes.com home page and then clicking on the word recipes at the top of the home page.  Enjoy making this and the other recipes your own family recipes!

One thought on “Oatmeal Cookie Recipe Notes

Leave a Reply

