Flameless Battery Candles

Flameless Candles, USB Shelf

Flameless Battery Candles on a USB Shelf

 

Living in Florida, I have a more stylish and automatic solution for dark hallways and occasional power outages.  I have many flameless, also called battery operated, candles in strategic locations around my home, including on top of bathroom wall cabinets.  My family like them and my guests love them.

The picture that I have posted is on a shelf that has two lights that can be charged by a USB connection.  I found this shelf on sale at Lowes Home Improvement Store.  It is installed over a doorway that leads into a windowless hallway.  On top of the shelf, I have several battery operated candles with timers.  Each timer will turn on automatically and provide a small amount of light for five hours before it will automatically switch off.  I have the hallway candles on a staggered schedule, so that there will be some light regardless of the time of day or night.  If you live in a home with a stairway, I would suggest installing several small accent shelves every few steps and place some flameless candles on each one.  It will be beautiful and practical. It will make a great house warming gift!

I prefer the candles that have the five hour timers and use double A size batteries.  The triple A ones will not perform as well, and without a timer it will be too much of a problem to remember to turn them on nightly and off every morning.

You can find these type of timer candles at big box stores, such as WalMarts.  Jo-Ann Fabric and Crafts also sells them, and in various colors, sizes and scents.  Bed Bath and Beyond carry taper candles for your dining table that have five hour times too.  Romantic and safe.

Leave a Reply

